June Rush Part 1

Alright, I have had an interesting two weeks….
Interesting in the sense that nothing happened the first, and then A TON happened the second.
This post will just go over week one at the moment though because I think it would be more fitting to break these two up as their experiences were polar opposites…
So without further ado…
Week One:
Week one I went to stay with a group of school sisters, the School Sisters of Christ the King, for a week.
They have summer mission programs every year where they invite high school girls to come and help them lead summer camps.
This was my third year attending and I thought I knew exactly how it would go.
I did not expect nothing.
Well…. I can’t truly say NOTHING, but compared to my past years, it certainly seems like nothing. Last year we (us “helpers” who were staying in the Sisters guest house) ate cake EVERY NIGHT! On Thursday night, known as “Broadway Night”, my group and I rewrote Tangled’s “When Will My Life begin” to describe our very exciting week.
The year before that was my first time ever and I hiked on train tracks with a consecrated sister (different from nuns as sisters are not cloistered) and played a VERY competitive game of softball. Who knew holy women could be so hard core…
So what happened this year?
A game of volleyball because softball got blown out (read: wind was VERY strong), a week of helping kids who were almost to good, and a few skits.
It was so quiet… I was pretty disappointed. And then I come back and find that, despite her promise to have it completed by the time I returned, my room was still unpacked. Completely unpacked. The morning of the 21st I had to retake the SAT because my scores were cancelled the first time (not my fault)… the point is, that week was pretty disappointing. Until I realized that the entire week I was with the Sisters, because I had nothing holding me down, or to keep my mind hopping from one minute to the next I could actually concentrate on the most important thing in my life that I never pay attention to… my relationship with Jesus. Rather then nodding off during holy hour or constantly checking the time and waiting for it to be over I actually prayed and had a conversation with the Lord, discussing my life, what he wants for my future, and just anything that was on my mind. It was wonderful.
So yeah, maybe my week wasn’t the most exciting and fun week I’d ever had, but it was the week I needed this year to prepare myself for the coming move and senior year… the start of a new life as an actual adult (18 this fall. Yikes!). In short, the Lord gave me a quiet week because, as much as I hate quiet weeks, I needed this one desperately and guess what.. I didn’t have a clue that I did until the Lord gave it to me.
So yeah, there’s Week One of my crazy June Rush.

One comment

Leave a comment