Let’s Go Fly a Plane!

Oh wait, I already did!

*murmurs to self* need to find out when I can again…

Hey guys!

How’s life? Or the semi comatose state of being that defines summer? Which ever you happen to be inhabiting at this moment.

So I have been gone for 3 weeks.

I have a good excuse this time though!

I was learning to fly a plane.

Yep, what better excuse is there?

I was also making friends, experiencing cafeteria food for the first time (not horrible… but after 2 meals a day for two weeks you start to feel yuck. I was too hungry most of the time to care. Most of the time…), and did I mention learning to fly a plane?

No, I do not have my Pilot’s Certificate yet. Yes, that means I can not legally fly other people except for my CFI.  No, I will not break the law to fly you to your grandparents.

Right, now that that is out of the way… who want’s to hear about my vacation/ Civil Air Patrol flight school boot camp?!

It was a ton of fun, and not just because of the flying! We had an amazing group of Civil Air Patrol cadets, a couple from the west coast, a couple from the southwest (nothing funnier then seeing a southwest cadet dying of humidity on a perfect day with almost 0% humidity), a couple from the Midwest, and one guy from Detroit.

It was a ton of fun getting to know all of them (and learning their weak spots… particularly Detroit’s… why we all put up with him I’m still not sure…) and learning how not to crash a plane.

Also cards. The card games were long and vicious and occasionally restarted do to a lack of proper shuffling and/or dealing of cards.

Also the music. There were a couple key songs you had to know.

Detroit got the boys started on Single Ladies the first couple days. From there it went to See You Again, Shut Up and Dance, and a few more that I don’t remember the names of, but I remember us rocking out to them in the vans on the way to local AFB and museums.

In the end I think See You Again was the big song of the Academy.

Soooo… yeah, that was most of my vacation/graduation present.

Flying, card games, and dying of laughter several times over.

That’s all for now. I’ll do a more detailed post about a couple big milestones later this week.

What have you all been doing this summer? Anybody else have summer camps? Some big last free summer of your life spectacular in the works?

12 comments

  1. That’s so awesome!!! 😀 Will you break the rules to fly me to Russia? XD
    I started tae kwon do two weeks ago, and that’s really fun! I might also get to try archery, since they’re offering a class at our co-op. *squeals with excitement*

    1. Ohh… Russia…. maybe ve can arrange something, because I vant to go to Russia! 😉
      Sounds like you have an equally fun summer planned!
      I always wanted to try martial arts… never did, but it always looked cool.
      Hope you have fun!

      1. We should! After I watch all of the LotR movies in a row with my youth group friends, of course. XD
        You should! I always wanted to, and it took me a while to figure everything out, but it’s worth it. 🙂

      2. Cool! And can I crash your Youth Group for the LOTR marathon? I’ve always wanted to do one…
        Sounds like fun! Maybe I will get try it Someday… that would be cool…

  2. Sounds like you’re having a fabulous summer. 😀 What’s it like to fly a plane? (I imagine it would be semi-terrifying, but then again, I get scared driving a minivan down a highway, so yeah.)
    My summer’s . . . pretty busy. I’m doing Camp NaNo this month and trying to get a contest entry or two pounded out. And my family’s going to be running all over because we have so much going on. >.<

      1. 1. No blinkers
        2. You don’t have to twist your arm to turn the yoke versus the steering wheel you have to turn 360 degrees.
        3. Rudder pedals are wonderful for steering.
        4. You control the thrust/gas by hand with the throttle. Makes much more sense then with your foot…
        I have 2 weeks to get my license before heading off the school.

      2. Hmm. Good reasons, I suppose, though I’ve never had a problem with #1. (Other than occasionally forgetting them when I first started, but I’m over that.)
        Yikes. Good luck; you’ll need it.

Leave a Reply

