One Year Ago

I have officially been a blogger for one whole year.

Wow!

Since a year ago I have moved across the country and become a legal adult. I’ve received the Billy Mitchell Award in Civil Air Patrol, changed my college plans 4 times in 4 months, done a play from backstage for the first time ever (will do a longer post on that in future), and have started preparations to go where I never thought I’d go for school.

In all it has been a wild ride and I only wish you’d been able to come along for more of it.

What I’ve learned through this whole year is that you can’t blog about everything. It’s weird to do recipe reviews alongside life lessons, with a dash of short stories. While preparing for the SAT I’ve considered posting essays I do for reading and reviewing by my dear readers, but that never has seemed to fit in anywhere.

Basically this whole year I’ve been trying to find my little corner of the blogsphere.

I don’t blog like my friend Erin who can do almost everything and it some how fits into her style of blog (seriously, I have know idea why but it’s true), I’m not like the typical writers/nanoers blogs who talk about writing and post bits of their stories.

However, I don’t want to make this a fitness blog either ( I kind of set up a separate one for that if anyone is interested in following my fitness climb).

It’s taken me a year to realize this, but I like talking about myself.

Well, that’s not entirely true actually…

In reality I feel awkward talking about myself too much, and it has nearly killed me to brag about myself on all these college applications. This is in complete contrast to my biggest vice, which would be pride.

Yes, I’m a prideful person with the most ridiculously strong honest streak ever, and can’t brag about herself for any application or friend in the world.

Oh, the irony.

So what i mean when I say I like talking about myself is that I like sharing my opinions, letting people know what I think, what I like, and what I’m doing.

With those facts in mind not only would it be almost fun (there’s my honest streak peeking out) but healthy for me to make this blog a bragging blog. Well, a Me blog I suppose would be the kinder term…

Now, don’t get to excited or self conscious.

I am not rich, I do not go on crazy expensive vacations every Summer to the beach, and I have never been to an amusement park, let alone ride a roller coaster, so this may end up being a dismal failure and the most boring blog in the history of Me blogs.

Seriously, I am the girl who either wins or comes in second during the “never have I ever” game, if any of you have played that before.

This blog will literally be me trying to overcome every self conscious bone in my body and live to the mantra that my old Drill Team leader, Lt Col W taught at a leadership class.

“No regrets.”

I can’t let something small I screw up on cling to me for the rest of my life.

It isn’t healthy, and with my career plans will jeopardize my future if I can’t nip it in the bud.

I have to learn to brag (on paper at least), accept who I am and the mistakes I make (that would be my pride there), and perhaps learn some time management as well.

That’s not to say every post I do will be me talking about my “feelings” or mistakes I’ve made, or things like that.

If I have something I wrote that I really want to share or a book I read I want to give my opinion on I will.

But I won’t force myself to write anything I don’t want to post.

This is no longer the mish mash blog I started it as, but I am now giving it a purpose.

Year One was finding my corner, and new friends, in this crazy little corner of the web.

Now this next year will be the true Year One, Year One for me to get this blog really going.

This year I’m making this blog Mine.

And now for the boring stats you really have no interest in, but that I want chronicled for five years from now.

Posts: 101

Views: 1,632

Visitors: 662

Best Views Ever: 36 views on Nov 5 2014

Followers: 93

Next year’s Blogiversary Post will be much cooler, I promise.

And I’m sorry if I restated a lot of what I said a couple posts back, but I felt like I needed to cement it, having only just come up with a plan on how to make this a real Me blog.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

