I’m A Future Falcon!!!!!!

So, I gave my excuses for not posting in the last post, so I’m just hoping right into things.

Senior year is the craziest most stressful time I have ever experienced in my life.

Why.

Two words.

College Applications.

Actually, let’s tack another word on there.

WAITING.

The waiting and uncertainty is the worst thing in the world.

About 2.5 months ago I found out I wasn’t Accepted to the Air Force Academy.

My plan B was to attend the local public four year ivy league level college with an Air Force ROTC program.

Beep! to expensive, back to the drawing board.

My parents assumed I’d go to the local community college for a year. They had it all; a flying program, the math and lab sciences I needed, affordable cost. There was just one small problem. I literally had a mental breakdown every time I tried to visit. The first time we went I was just sunk. The only highlight was we were talking to the aviation department guy, and talked flying plans and Air Force.

The second time, which was for an open house thing, I literally ran out of there in tears, hyperventilating, the works.

Scratch Plan C.

We went back to the local ivy league which had regional locations. Offered the same basic classes, I could do ROTC,  and was just as cheap as community college.

Ding ding!!!!

Or so I thought…

A couple weeks ago I went to visit the Air Force Academy the first time. It was incredible. The weather patterns were a bit unpredictable this time of year, but the mountains and campus were amazing. The cadets were great, especially the second degree (junior) who lead our tour.

She hadn’t gotten in the first year she applied either. Instead, she was planning on going to her local school and doing ROTC. She’d sent in her housing deposit and everything.

Then she got a letter.

After the tour I’d talked with her a little bit since she’d been through the reapplication process. I asked some questions, she answered what she could, gave some advise, and gave me her phone and e-mail.

Now I bet you’re wondering what was in the letter she got.. patience grasshopper, I’m getting to that!

My Dad and I got home from Colorado late at night/early in the morning on a  Saturday.

Two days later, first thing Monday morning around 6:30 pm I open my e-mail.

You Have a New Message In Your Academy Portal.

I race over to admissions, log into my account (portal) and there it is, in bright bold unread glory.

You have received a Falcon Foundation Scholarship.

Alright drop the mildly interested looks that hide your confusion, I am going to explain.

A Falcon Foundation Scholarship is the next best thing to AFA Prep school.

They give a scholarship to a chosen few who didn’t get accepted to the academy of AFA prep school, and only those who are pilot qualified (meet the physical standards for a USAF pilot) that covers most of the expense (and when I say most I mean most) to attend a Service Academy preparatory program at one of seven schools across the country.

Cue my hyperventilation and incomprehensible murmurs. Needless to say my Dad could concentrate on nothing all day at work after my Mom told him, and if the whole universe doesn’t find out soon from my parent’s constant bragging I’ll be genuinely surprised (yes, I know I’m the one blogging about it, but I’m anonymous here, so it doesn’t count!).

Back to the story.

Yes this letter is identical to the one the cadet had received. One of my first steps, therefore, was to e-mail her and ask her about her prep school. What was it like? Was it worth it? Would she go there again? How did it compare to this other prep school, or ROTC, or the AFA prep school?

After much deliberation I decided on a school, and in an area I never expected to go until pilot training, if I went that route.

The south west.

yep, I’m goin’ to da place of red dirt and sun and desert rocks.

I’m excited about my choice though, and can’t wait to experience this new world.

And the cool thing about the program is it is entirely devoted to getting me accepted into the Academy next year. They have classes on SAT/ACT prep, all the math and sciences the Academies want to see, and a weekly class just to make sure your on top of the nomination and application process.

So yeah, that just happened two weeks ago.

It’s funny, everything seemed to line up for it to happen. And I’m sorry, but meeting a cadet who got the same scholarship, who’s prep school I will end up attending, and made it to the Academy the next year two days before I’m offered the same opportunity? Yeah, I’m sure that was all just coincidence, right?

” For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Jeremiah 29:11

Thanks, God. 🙂

4 comments

  1. My story is kind of similar. When I needed a job when I was eighteen and couldn’t attend because we didn’t have the money, I found one. And then this past fall, I found another one (albeit I don’t like it much because so many of my coworkers have come and gone and one of them makes it so hard for me to do MY job, DESPITE having been warned about this exact same thing…) If I’m ever dating anyone, I’m going to ask him if he would change his behavior if I asked him to. And then ask him to change something he’s been doing that I don’t particularly care for. And if he doesn’t, then he’s out as a possible candidate for marriage, because in my job I have seen too many men who wouldn’t change their way of doing things even when confronted by a better option, and I could not live with someone like that. I RESERVE MY RIGHT TO BE CHOOSY. No matter if it gets me called difficult. Quitting just isn’t an option for me.

Leave a Reply

