Original Poem: The Run

I feel the ground beneath me,

The hard unloving ground,

But I pound right back at it,

It will not pull me down.

This trail is mine to conquer,

My feet will know no pain.

And however long this takes me,

All that time I’ll give

To conquering this villain,

Send him back to the unknown.

I will not fall nor break,

Until victory I’ve claimed.

This journey is a test,

And some mornings I do not wish to rise

And set my feet back to it,

But put off until a later time.

But I will never quit.

Never will I waver.

Until at last I have set my feet,

On the peak of my Everest.

No man can keep me grounded,

No storm send me crawling home.

This trail is mine to conquer,

If must conquer it alone.

********

What do you think? I’d love to have some feedback on this. It was just something I wrote on the fly.

5 comments

  1. I love this! It’s a great poem, and I really like how it flowed. It had sort of the beat of running feet to it, if that makes sense. πŸ˜€ I’ve found things written on the fly turn out really good. πŸ˜‰

    1. Thanks! And I’m glad it kept that rhythm, as that is what inspired it.
      Most of what I write, and usually post, I wrote on the fly. I’ll write something, read it through once, make minor adjustments to wording, and then proclaim it done. *shrugs* it works fairly well most of the time.

      1. i should honestly apply it more often… I am trying to do a series of short stories, but I can’t figure out how to begin, what writing style it should follow, and all the mechanics.

Leave a Reply

