Faithful Friday: The Heart of Worship

At this moment I am listening to the radio; specifically a song titled “The Heart of Worship.”

The chorus goes something like this.

“I’m coming back to the heart of worship,

where it’s all about you,

It’s all about you Jesus.

I’m sorry, Lord, for the thing I’ve made it,

when it’s all about you,

it’s all about you, Jesus.”

It made me pause, and wonder just why I was writing this blog post.

The title of this post is Faithful Friday. I started it to help share my faith, to keep my Lord in the center of my life.

But I can’t deny that there are material benefits.

I attract followers, I get more views, and I post more often.

So that brings me to the question, what should my intention be? Is my current intention that?

Am I really doing this for God’s glory?

I certainly hope so.

This week has been quite quiet on the spiritual side.

I’ve tried to keep Christ in my mind and heart, but I haven’t had many Lightening bolts, or even soft whispers to remind me He’s there.

Something tells me it’s because I’ve forgotten the very center of a relationship.

Talk.

It’s not enough to think about God, we have to acknowledge him like we would a friend we meet at a library.

A relationship goes two ways. I can’t just think to myself about God, I have to think with him. I have to have a regular talk with him, like I do with all of my friends.

Prayer, to me, is the heart of worship.

It’s us not just acknowledging Christ, but recognizing his place in our lives.

Lord, creator, and friend.

I challenge you this Sunday to, outside of church, sit down in the most peaceful place you know, the place where you think your deepest thoughts. Just close your eyes and start a conversation with God.

Just say whatever is on your mind.

Who knows what might happen. 🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

