November 7: NaNo Week 1 Report

Well, I am sitting at my computer desk, staring at a document I’ve been working since before NaNo started, and have actually been crafting for two years now, and I can’t write a word.

I think I missed a monster in my NaNo Wood Walk through, and it is taking its revenge on me for that.

Most people have muses, and they are the mystic writing deities we humbly beg to assist us in our quests and missions through the NaNo woods. We offer them sacrifices of caffeine, Chocolate, sleep, exercise, daylight, Chores, School Work, and even our own brain cells during this crazy month.

I’ve only just figured out what my muse is.

I am fairly certain my muse isn’t quite a muse at all.

I swear it is a crazy satyr marching around my head with some sort of club that controls the door to the imagination well from which my writer’s gifts come.

For those Percy Jackson fans out there, think Coach Hedge marching around in your mind palace shouting “Give me 20 words now! Where are you again? A stable? Where are the horses! The place should reek of them, give me reek! What’s this now? A ball? forget it Twinkle Toes! Break this slow dance up with a nice army of tap dancing zombies with M16s NOW!”

Of course, he’s currently sitting in a corner pouting, “Oh? you forgot to mention me? Don’t even know I’m here? Fine then, see how well you write with this little stream of plot lines cut off”, and away he goes to close the nice door that acts like a dam for my imagination.

Rather annoying, but I’m almost glad to find my source of muse-like wisdom is a half goat man with a baseball bat. While I like writing pretty verses and stories of tall muses with dark flowing hair, none of them seemed to click as the kind of source of inspiration I had somewhere in my head.

And with that compliment, my goat man is reopening my imagination well, and begrudgingly is allowing me the ideas I need to continue writing.
Hoorah!

Tip #6 For Winning NaNo: When all else fails, compliment the goat man in your head.

Now, before Coach Pen gets mad again, an actual report.

Current Word Count: 10, 332

My Words Per Day: 1,476

Target Average Words per Day: 1,667

Words Remaining: 39,668

Days remaining: 24

Projected Finish Date: Dec 4, 2014

Words per day To Finish On Time: 1,653

What about you other NaNoers? How are you all doing?

2 comments

    1. You can do it!

      I’ve gone back and restructured my story again with a brand new scene list.
      Hopefully that will help me pick up the pace a little, especially since some of the scenes are super exciting.

Leave a Reply

