A Dream Achieved

Hello dear readers!

My apologies for dropping off the face of the earth. As I’ve mentioned, school is taking up a great deal of my time currently.

I wanted to let you know that I just completed a half marathon!

That’s right, I ran 13.1 miles, without stopping!

My legs are pretty much dead now, but I’m so glad I did it πŸ™‚

Now, time for a little backstory so you all understand why this accomplishment means so much to me.

I have been overweight since I was little, and was obese at 11. Because all of my friends were awesome, no one would tell me outright that I was a little on the chubby side.
I didn’t start really losing weight until I was about 15, which was also around the time I started really thinking about what i wanted to do with my life. The Air Force kept pushing its way into my mind. When i finally decided, yes, I want to go for this, I knew I really had to start pushing myself, and working hard to get fit for the demanding physical requirements.
At that time my greatest hurdle, physically, was (after push-ups anyway πŸ˜› ) running.
I hadn’t been a “runner’ since I was 9, and at age 14 I could barely run for about 20 yards.
I always wanted to run, ever since I’d read this article on running and cross country in a magazine.
I just never believed that I could do that.
a mile, maybe, because a mile was long.
But anything further, let alone a half marathon, forget it!
As luck would have it, we lived in a suburban area with a bike trail at the time I started my training ( age 16).
I joined Civil Air patrol, where I needed to do a timed Mile run once a month, and come in under 12 minutes.
And Now here I am, a year later, standing (or more correctly, half collapsed πŸ˜› ) at the end of a 13.1 mile course, which I completed in 3 hours exactly.
Believe me, I had plenty of time to look back on my past unfit self, and think of how I had dreamed of doing what I was doing at that moment. By the time I crossed the finish line, and the volunteer there hung that finishing medal around my neck, I wanted to cry.
I’d only ever dreamed of doing something like that, but never believed i really would!
Now here I am, fitter then I have ever been, and still working hard to grow even stronger.

Today I accomplished a dreamed. I half-sprinted (wish it could have been a full sprint, but I wasn’t able to make it to that before reaching finish line) across a finish line after running, sometimes jogging, once or twice dropping to a power walk, for 13.1 miles.

And that’s it.

To some people, it may seem small. I ran a race, so what? I’ve run hundred of full marathons!” or something like that, but for me, that half wasn’t just 13.1 miles. It wasn’t just a number. It was a sign. It was me proving that I can do anything I want. It was me proving I never have to go back to what I was 4 years ago.

Now I know, that all sounded really cheesy, but my half marathon was the textbook example of a cheesy/inner emotion stirring run. πŸ™‚

14 comments

      1. Never mind Professor, you can stay.
        Besides, I agree completely with your statement.
        To paraphrase it, every fairy tale needs a good old fashioned villain. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

