An Unexpected Dilemma and Resolution

I have found nothing goes according to plan.

For instance, the deadline for an application isn’t always the very last day you can submit it.

Occasionally the deadline is a trip up for those who don’t read the fine writing.
Sometimes the application is due months before the deadline, because a follow up application relies on the first being submitted months before its deadline.

That is what I just learned today, and it wasn’t until I started writing this post that I realized its purpose.

There are plenty of do-it-halfway-then-drop people in the world, especially those seniors who fall into the “senior year trap” and grow lazy. (I’m sure none of you fine readers are one of those! I have simply heard of their existence, and seen enough proof to believe they lurk in the shadows…)

So when a selective college requires two different forms and applications, one of which is due a month after the other, but to complete the second, the first has to be submitted months in advance, it’s all an elaborate web designed to weed out those who wouldn’t make it through the rest of the application.

Boy am I glad I read the fine print.

Speaking of fine print (oh how clever of me!) the finest print of all is something I should be addressing.

I have really slacked off on my reading the past year. I have focused so much on school and special activities I forgot how to enjoy recreational reading.
This was also caused by the lack of a library card.

Now that the move is over, and we have library cards again, I checked out a grand total of three recreational books (which is way below average for me. Usually it’s closer to ten…), plus a book on running.

I devoured the books, and then started on my Dad’s! (Okay, so I haven’t finished the running one yet, but I’m a good third of the way through it…)

The reader in me has been revived!

I forgot how fast I can read when I want to, and how I love reading.
Perhaps this starvation for good literature I’ve been suffering from has been the root cause of my dried up writer’s well of inspiration…

Either way, my book life has returned to me!

I can once again sit in my room (or any where) and read for hours upon hours. This is good news for my school year, since most of it is reading, and the rest is writing reports and essays connected with what I’ve been reading.

I’m now confident I can finish reading those raggedy books on my list of books-to-read before-finishing-High-School that I’ve had gather dust on my desk.

That is all, you may now go about the rest of your daily lives.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

