Fun with Charts and Personality Tests

One of my favorite parts of leadership studies is learning about different personality theories and studies and all that fun stuff.
So I’ve decided to do three posts on my favorite personality trait identifications.
This first one will be about the Johari Window.

The Johari window is named for Joseph Luft and Harry Ingham, who developed the Window in 1955.
The Johari window is a way of exploring the different faces of YOU.
All of us have different habits and personality quirks. Some we show off to the world without shame, while others we keep hidden. Some that other see in us we may be unconscious of, while others nobody, not us or our friends, are aware exist.
The Window is constructed to help sort out which or your quirks and habits, are in Public (or open), Private (or hidden), Blind Spot, or Unknown.

First things first… a colorful and handy chart!

johariwindow1

Public

Things that are in the public view are things that are known to you and your peers. This could be your love of reading, your enthusiasm for work, or your reckless nature. πŸ™‚
These are things that are typically, or at least should be, positive things that represent all the good things about you.
If you want to be hired as a babysitter for local families, you want your love of children, and patience to be in the public box. You may not want to have your lack of forethought or childish tendencies to be quite so well known…

Private

Things in the Private box are things you and only you know. Your fear of the dark, your quick temper… things like that definitely belong in the private box.
For shy people, most of their life can end up here. It’s important to review what you want the world to see in you, and how exactly you are showing it. Some good qualities can easily get buried in your private box, especially if you are not in the habit of showing off yourself to the world.
It’s good to have some things (maybe, if you’re like me, a lot of things) in the private box, but that doesn’t include putting all of you in there. Some things are just to good not to share. πŸ™‚

Blind Spot

This is probably the most important box of them all. The Blind box.
This box consists of habits, or quirks… or anything like that which our friends and other people can see, but not us.
These could be good things that other people see in us, that we have no idea about, or they could be bad habits that we do unconsciously.
It’s important to try and get feedback from your friends in this.
How annoying am I? Does anything I do particularly annoy you? What is my best skill? Those kinds of questions, when asked to people who know us and have to deal with us on a regular basis, can up else to determine what it in our blind spot, and if any of those things need to be addressed.

Unknown

This is a tricky area… it consist of the things we don’t know about ourselves, and that our friends don’t know. Something buried so deep we have no idea it exists…
It’s hard to list what can end up there, because nobody knows. It’s like this dark well of secrets… secrets we keep so well we have no idea they exist.

And those are the four areas of the Johari Window.
I found it super interesting when I was first introduced to the subject, and I hope at least a few of you find it mildly entertaining in some way.
However, if this post was total flop, do not hesitate to tell me.
I have two other posts lined up on similar topics (The Myers-Brigg test and Birth Order Theory) so tell me if this was interesting, and if the two future posts intrigue you at all.
If they don’t, I don’t have to post them.
If they do, then Yay! They’ll be up at some point in the next couple weeks!
Until then, have fun exploring what’s in your Johari window. πŸ˜‰

7 comments

  1. Ooh, I’d love to see the other two posts. This one is interesting, but I have a hard time being honest with myself about these things, and some people see some things and others don’t. I’m shy at first and then… then people laugh if I say that im shy. πŸ˜›

    1. I have a hard time being honest with myself too. I’ll confuse what I am with what I want to be sometimes.
      It really is a matter of 1. opinions, 2. Social interactions (like, some people may see different qualities in you then others because you act differently around them then you do other people), and 3. The perception of the person you are asking. Some people probably never even think about whether a person is more daring or cautious.

      1. I know exactly what you mean. I have all these characters that are “modeled after me” but are really more of an idealized version of me, the me I want to be.
        Totally. The second one definitely applies to me. Different people in different places see different parts of me.

Leave a Reply

