An Update on Life…

…My life specifically.

Well, what have I been doing?
Meditating on a way to further my own spiritual enlightenment?
I only wish! (Well…. maybe not…)
But no, that is far different then what has been taking up my every hour.
Hm? What’s that?
Have I been tearing my hair out at the pile of applications and work it takes to get into a decent college these days? Have I been stressing to much because I can no long run down my road every morning to workout and burn off all my extra energy? Am I frustrated because I haven’t been to a Civil Air Patrol meeting in almost a month? Have I had “If I Were a Rich Man” running through my head every time I even peek at college tuition and scholarships?
Why yes! Yes I have!
In all honesty, I managed to keep my cool fairly well until yesterday.
But at last, left with no other option, I have resorted to running laps up and down my drive way intermixed with push ups and crunches.
My driveway is actually the length of four driveways now, so it’s not as short as you may think, but it is by no means a proper run.
Positive things I have been doing is getting a lot of school done for it still being August, getting re-motivated to reach with all my might for my dream school, and … yeah, that’s pretty much it.
In hopes to get me more motivated for not only running, but for bettering my physical fitness in general, I’ve been searching the world wide web for all the best, most inspiring fitness themed blogs I can.
If anyone has one to suggest, I’d be very much grateful!
I also am becoming quite a Lincoln fan. I’m close to finishing the third book about him that I’ve read in the past month.
The first was The World of Abraham Lincoln by Genevieve Foster, which I started this past spring for school, but laid aside for the summer.
The second, and this one I highly recommend, was Lincoln on Leadership by Donald T. Phillips. It was a book about leadership based on Lincoln’s political career and handling of the Civil War.
It is an amazing read for those of you who seek some kind of leadership position, or even if you don’t. It has a ton of quotes by Abraham Lincoln, and besides giving lots of advice on being a leader, it holds a lot of advice on how to treat people through life in general
The one I am close to finishing (I’m in the middle of 1863) is Abraham Lincoln by James Daughtery. I’ve read a couple of his books before, his book on Benjamin Franklin, and Lewis and Clark namely, but this is by far my favorite of his.
So… that’s life at the moment.
I get to start my World War I studies next month, and am trying to cram all the Civil War books I wanted to read in the next two weeks.
Oh! And I’ll be off farm-sitting for friends all weekend, so you won’t hear from me till Monday or Tuesday probably.
I’ll be sure to let you know how that goes!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

