A Rest Stop in The Road

Well, it’s done. This last family move was probably the fastest and easiest I have ever been through.
But I’m not done moving yet.
This fall I’ll start my senior year of High School.
It is my preferred plan that I be at college in another part of the state, or another state entirely, in 18 months.
My Mom is trying to redirect me to the university that’s 20 minutes away.
I admit it looks nice and all, but I kind of have my heart set on being somewhere else.
I see college as a fresh start as a new person.
I’ve been homeschooled my entire life, so going to school in an actual classroom, while a welcome change, is exactly that. A change. A big one. And if even something small in my life changes, at least half of the rest of me has to as well.
Another reason I’m not sticking at home for another 3 years is this. It will mean Mom may push back my driving again (though I admit, that’s less likely now since it was decided after the move it was stupid that I wasn’t driving) and both me and my pride would rather fall into a pit of lava or be swallowed by a ranging sea, perishing to either flames or foam, before my mother drives me to college.
No offense to anyone who may feel otherwise, that’s just what me and my pride think.
Also, is it just me, or is it weird to have both your parents accompany you to visit a college open house? Nothing against either of my parents, but when ever they both take me somewhere (even if it’s just Black Friday shopping) I feel like a little kid going on an outing with Mommy and Daddy, stuck in the backseat, and just a little invisible on the car ride there and back.
I’m trying to find a good time to tell at least one of them that… my Mom seems to have it in her head that both she and my Dad have to go with me to see each college.
Ummm… no thanks? I’d rather spend quality time with you?
That’s why I suggested the open house when dad’s out of town?
No?
Okay…
So that’s what’s controlling my thoughts everyday; College Visits, Scholarships, SAT scores, and college applications.
Oh the joy of near adulthood.
Last but not least (why do people say that? It’s like we are bowing to those things that are mentioned last, or assuring people that even though we forgot to mention them earlier, they are still important, in an attempt to keep their friendship. I need to do a post on this…) on my list of things to write about that I make up as I go..
Congrats to everyone who has or will be finishing Camp NaNoWriMo: July Camp!
I was unable to participate (two weeks of no internet, and at least 6 days in the car tend to hinder writing and word counts) I do want to congratulate those who did!
See all you NaNoers in November hopefully!
You know… as long as my homework doesn’t turn into a glue breathing monster of work that sticks me to my desk… That’s not a bad idea actually!
for a story I mean.
I’d hate to have to much school to do NaNo
Anyway… Adios Amigos!
For now anyway…

6 comments

  1. Wait you’re a rising senior? I did not know that. And if you want college suggestions, let me recommend Bob Jones University in South Carolina. It’s Christian with a liberal arts core and we could request each other as roommates. *nods* Any ideas on what your major will be?

  2. That’s alright, I can’t keep track of where I am sometimes either. 🙂
    I’ve never really looked at South Carolina… I’m more a northern person at heart. I love my visits to Michigan, and would like to end up there.
    As to major, if you are still interested in knowing, maybe something like mathematics, or engineering. I really think it would be cool to try for a mathematics major.

Leave a Reply

