Independence Day

Happy Fourth everyone!

What a special day it is… this is seriously one of my favorite days in the entire year.

But why?

Well, it’s so important to what makes America, America. It ties us back to our Forefathers and the morals that our great land was built on. Without the Fourth, would we remember these men who signed a paper that started a country? Would we even remember the paper? How much of our respect for our own history would we have without this marked day in the calendar reminding us to stop and look back?

I went to a Day long Lecture on WW1 last fall, and one of the points that was made about why some wars are restarted and fought all over again (for example, both WWs) is that over the generations, people start to forget what war is like. After a couple generations stories become just that, stories. Without experiencing the events first hand, it’s hard for us as humans to fully comprehend what it is.
And that’s, I think, what our founding fathers had in mind when they saw that the Fourth of July was set aside in America as a day of celebration and remembrance. To remember the great step that was taken, and what it cost the first Americans.

And that, I believe, is why The Fourth of July is so important.

It has been a beacon of hope in dark days. A torch that reminds us that we are still American, no matter who is running this country, or how far things have fallen from what the Founding Fathers designed. We are American, and if we could last 238 years while other countries rose and fell around us, we can last a couple hundred more!

I firmly believe that this is more then just a holiday to be celebrated, or another three-day weekend from work. This day is a symbol not just to us but to the rest of the world that we will not relent. We will strive to remain the America that was signed into existence on two occasions. On July 2nd, when the Continental Congress put their names to a Declaration of Independence, and then again on June 21 when the Constitution was finally ratified.

So today, remember what today is. A symbol to the ages. A connection back to 1776.

Today is Independence Day

And now for a gift to you all… a playlist of my favorite Fourth of July tunes.

Made in America – Toby Keith

God Bless America – Celine Dion

God Bless the USA – Lee Greenwood

Chicken Fried – Zac Brown Band

Independence Day – Martina McBride

God Bless America!

P.S. let me know in the comments how you are celebrating Independence day! Are you watching a Liberty Kids marathon? The Patriot? 1776? Are you eating only Red, White, and Blue foods? Are you visiting a Veteran’s Home? Let me know!
I’ll be watching The Patriot. Family tradition šŸ™‚

4 comments

  1. I’m putting ribs on the list. We had chicken for dinner. (And this time, to shake things up, rather than potato salad I made mashed potatoes. Because mashed potatoes go better with chicken,)
    Oh, and I’m just going to put one of my favorite quotes from my American History course that I took with that one awesome instructor here, because it’s relevant:
    The reason we need a Holocaust Museum and other memorials in this country is “the recuperative power of innocence in a liberal (democratic/free) society.” I LOVE THAT QUOTE AND IT’S GOING ALL OVER THE WEB AND I WON’T STOP POSTING SO THERE!!!
    Did I mention I love Memorial Day? (And maybe I’ll watch Tora Tora Tora with my brother sometime this summer… it’s a goal.)

  2. Ribs!!!! Oh Erin… lucky!
    Watch America! I’ll be posting a review at some point in the future… sooner rather then later hopefully. I plan to do one for school anyway.

Leave a Reply

